Franklin and Hearne thespians thrill audiences and judges

Franklin and Hearne Students accept their awards for One Act Play

Laura Chesner
Staff Writer

Students from Hearne and Franklin High School competed in UIL one-act play competition, March 25 in Hempstead. Both had a strong showing and came home with awards for their hard work.
Hearne students presented the play Up by Brigette Capenter. The play Up invites us into the life of Walter Griffin, a failed inventor obsessed with Philippe Petit's famed 1974 wire-walk between the twin World Trade Center towers. Walter's greatest moment of glory – a flight on a lawn chair festooned with helium balloons – is now long behind him, though Walter dreams of inventing something wonderful once more. At the conclusion of the play it becomes clear to this family that life itself is lived on a wire not unlike Petit's, this one strung between happiness and sadness. Hearne student, Destiny Rodriquez earned the Honor Crew Award. Jorge Ibarra and Mariana Rosales earned an Honorable Mention All-Star Cast. Eugene Scott earned a place in All-Star Cast. Mr. Salm is quite proud of his student’s hard work and is planning a showing of the one-act play for the community in the future.
The Franklin High School Drama students presented Governing Alice by Austin playwright, Colin Denby Swanson. Governing Alice is a modern interpretation of the Greek Tragedy, Antigone. In the modern version of the Greek classic, Alice (Antigone) attempts to recover the reputation of her geeky, valedictorian brother after he dies unexpectedly while robbing a convenience store. The cast questions how someone can be so good and bad at the same time. The Franklin cast and crew will be advancing to the next round in the UIL competition. Corie Clay and Victoria Ferrell earned Honorable Mention All Star Cast. Tyler Henson, Alan Phillips, Kayla Huebner, Shannon Stutt, Hayden Luhn and Laurel Axtell were all named All Star Cast. Laura Coursey was named All Star Crew member and Samantha Lawrence was named Best Actress.
Congratulations to all of these talented Robertson County actors, actresses and crew members. Franklin is competing Thursday, March 28, in Hempstead for the District prize.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)