Local elections on the horizon

Laura Chesner
Staff Writer

Municipal elections are coming this May in Robertson County. School Board, city council, Mayor and even bond measures will be on ballots in the May 11 elections.
In Hearne, two School Board chairs are up for grabs. Sylvia Montelongo, currently Secretary of the Hearne School Board, is running against Jannifer Ann Taylor for her seat. Julian Flores and LaTonya Marie Darnell will be running for another open seat on the School board in Hearne. If you want to place your vote, come by Hearne City Hall on May 11.
In Franklin, Mayor Charles Ellison will be running unopposed for his Mayoral office. There are two spots on City Council available and three people running for those two spots. Wayne Bush, Raymond Hawkins and Olivia Campbell will vie for the two open spots. The School Board will be proposing a bond election for $12,000.00 to construct, rehabilitate, renovate and expand school buildings. To cast your vote for these offices or bond, come to the Franklin ISD Administration office on May 11.
In Bremond, Mayor Swick will run unopposed for his office and Melissa Wilganowski runs unopposed for her city council seat. In Place 2 and Place 3 city council seats are being contested. Chris Caffey and Leah Allen are running for place 2 while Dorothy Boudreau and Lee Roy McMahon will be running for place 3. Votes can be cast at the Justice of the Peace office in Bremond.
Early voting for all of these elections begin April 20 and run to May 7 and Election Day is May 11.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet