Election results – light turnout at polls for city and school elections

LaTonya Darnell joins the Hearne School Board as its newest member


Of the over 9,000 registered voters in Robertson County, only 776 voted in recent local elections. These elections decided on city council places, school board members and a large bond for Franklin schools.

In Bremond, Ricky Swick will return for another term as Mayor and she will be joined in the council chambers by Melissa Wilganowski, Lee Roy McMahon and Leah Allen.

In Franklin, Charles Ellison returns as Mayor of Franklin and Wayne Bush and Raymond Hawkins will be joining him in the counsel chambers. The 12 million dollar bond passed with 79% voting for the measure. Franklin ISD will be seeing construction start in a few months.

Hearne ISD welcomes LaTonya Marie Darnell to the board and Sylvia Montelongo retains her seat on the school board. Darnell attended the most recent school board meeting and is excited to get to work. “I’m going to study and learn as much as I can to help my city,” said Darnell.


Laura Chesner / laura@robconews.com

Rate this article: 
No votes yet