Primary Run-off results narrows field for general election

admin's picture

Robertson County primary run-offs concluded at 7:00 p.m. on Election Day, Tuesday, May 27. Early voters were able to cast ballots the week before as well to decide who would represent their party in the November general election.

Republicans had choices to make for four state office candidates and one county. In state offices, Robertson County Republicans chose Dan Patrick over David Dewhurst for lieutenant governor, 439 views to 171. For attorney general, local residents voted 383 to 203 in favor of Ken Paxton. In the agriculture commissioner’s race, it was Sid Miller narrowing winning the county majority, 279 to 255, over Tommy Merritt, and for railroad commission, Ryan Sitton was county favorite over Wayne Christian, 363 to 203.

Probably of greater interest to residents in Robertson County Pct. 3 was Melanie Green’s win over Ray Matthews, 189 to 120. Green has been working in the pct. 3 JP’s office for several years and ran on her experience under retired JP Keith Robinson.

In the Democratic primary, Democrats had three decisions to make. First, for United States Senator, David M. Alameel received the local nod over Kesha Rogers, 352 to 318. For Agriculture Commissioner, Jim Hogan held the lead over Richard “Kinky” Friedman, 407 to 291.

On the county level, incumbent Robert Bielamowicz will again be his party’s candidate, winning over challenger James Taylor 403 to 286.
County residents were in line with voters state-wide with Patrick, Paxton, Sitton, Alameel and Hogan claiming victory to become their party’s candidate in the general election this fall.

Melissa Freeman | Robertson County News

Rate this article: 
No votes yet