Harris defeated in landslide, McGrew elected to ISD Board

LaShaunda White had no problems unseating Shirley Harris in the May 6 election for Hearne Councilperson Place 5. By a margin of just under 2:1 votes White defeated Harris as citizens voted early sealing the victory with 742 for White, 383 for Harris. School Board President and long-term member James Taylor lost his bid for re-election to Sheridan Ely in the closest race of the election.

Ely defeated Taylor by 9 votes, votes she gained during the early voting period. The new City Council will be seated on May 16 at the regular council meeting time of 6:00 p.m. at the City Hall Annex. The normal procedure is to canvas the vote first, instill newly elected members and then proceed with the regular meeting


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition http://etypeservices.com/Robertson%20County%20NewsID275/

Robertson County News

114 W. 4th Street
Hearne, TX 77859

Phone (979) 279-3411
Fax (979) 279-5401